The HMS Beagle Project’s patrons and trustees include internationally renowned researchers, explorers, educators and naval experts. If you are interested in joining this committed group


Teresa Gorman

Former Member of Parliament. MPhil Zoology, Fellow of the Linnean Society.

Lord West of Spithead

Former First Sea Lord and Head of the Royal Navy.

Lord Hunt of Chesterton

Emeritus Professor of Climate Modelling, University College London. Former Director of the Met Office, UK.

Professor Simon Keynes

Elrington and Bosworth Professor of Anglo-Saxon History at Cambridge University. Great-great-grandson of Charles Darwin.

Sir Robin Knox Johnston

Pioneer solo sailor. Former President of the Sail Training Association.

Professor Dan Laffoley

IUCN Senior Advisor Marine Science and Conservation, Global Marine and Polar Programme. Marine Vice-chair, IUCN’s World Commission on Protected Areas.


Dr Ravinder Bhatia

Science team member and Chile Outreach

System Engineer, Atacama Large Millimeter Array, Chile and Visiting Research Fellow, National Oceanography Centre, UK. Former Senior Engineer, European Space Agency and Research Director of M/V Oceanic II.

Dr Karen James

Co-founder. Science team, Online and US Outreach

Biologist, Visiting Staff Scientist, Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory, USA. Former Postdoctoral Researcher and Darwin200 Science Coordinator, Natural History Museum, London.

Adrian Richardson

Education team member

Headmaster, Cothill Preparatory School. Principal, Cothill Educational Trust

Dr Simon Boxall

Science team and Executive Committee member

Lecturer in Oceanography at National Oceanography Centre, UK. Worked with UNESCO, EU Research Centre, World Bank, British Council, European Space Agency.

David Lort-Phillips

Co-founder and Executive Committee member

Trustee and co-founder of Darwin Experience, Wales. Relative of Admiral John Lort-Stokes, last captain of HMS Beagle.

Adrian Turner

Chairman Fundación Beagle, Chile

Co-founder of Darwin’s Trails, Chile. Former Venturer and Staff Officer for Operation Raleigh.

Ian Campbell

Ship-build team and Executive Committee member

Director of MTMC Ltd, naval engineer and historian. Long experience working with the Chilean Navy. Contributed to the design and build of Protector 33 patrol boats.

Liza Lort-Phillips

Sponsorship team member

Advisor at the Centre for Intelligence on Sustainable Markets, (, Incae Business School, Costa Rica. Sustainability consultant with expertise in global CSR strategies. 20 years experience across China, the UK, and the Americas.

Bob Clarke

Partnerships team member

Chemical Engineer. Former oil company executive and chair of Milford Haven Port Authority.

Peter McGrath

Co-founder and UK outreach

Co-founder of the HMS Beagle Project. Zoology graduate, author, yachtmaster.


Melanie Hanvey

Coordinator, UK

Former onboard research coordinator for a global voyage of M/V Oceanic II and copy editor for Nature Publishing Group. Academic background in chemistry, oceanography and science communication

Marten Lewis

Education team member

Director, the Darwin Experience.

Mike Waddleton

Executive Committee member

Business development, sales and marketing professional with experience in Pacific Rim. Former International Trade Advisor at UK Trade & Industry.

Detlev Loell

Ship designer and ship team member

Founder and Director, Detlev Loell & Partners, Germany. Classic shipbuilder.

Anna Faherty

Communication and learning advisor

Lecturer in Publishing at Kingston University and founder of Strategic Content. Clients include the National Maritime Museum and the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.


Randal Keynes, OBE

Partnerships team member

Great-great-grandson of Charles Darwin, trustee of the Charles Darwin Trust and ambassador of the Galapagos Conservation Trust.